2011 Better Business Bureau Integrity Award Recipients Announced

The Better Business Bureau of Minnesota and North Dakota (BBB) announced the recipients of the 2011 BBB Integrity Awards at a ceremony held at the Guthrie Theater in Minneapolis last week. This year’s keynote speaker was Ron James, the President and CEO of the Center for Ethical Business Cultures at the University of St. Thomas. Best Buy was the presenting sponsor.

“The Integrity Awards celebrate businesses that share our mission of advancing marketplace trust,” said Dana Badgerow, President and CEO of the BBB of Minnesota and North Dakota. “We salute the commitment to ethics this year’s winners and all of our finalists have made.”

The 2011 Integrity Award winners are:

  • Category I (1-10 Employees): Boy’s Electric. Boy’s Electric in Eden Prairie, MN is a local, family-owned company with electricians that have been serving Minneapolis, St Paul, and Waconia and surrounding areas for over 20 years.
  • Category II (11-50 Employees): Latuff Brothers Auto Body. Latuff Brothers Auto Body in Saint Paul, MN is a family-owned auto body shop that was founded locally by the Latuff family in 1933.
  • Category III (50+ Employees): North Star Resource Group. North Star Resource Group in Minneapolis, MN offers individuals and businesses a comprehensive range of resources to promote long-term financial well-being.

Businesses that were chosen as finalists were: Kammaron Design, Inc., Minneapolis, MN; Mark O. Finney, DDS, New Brighton, MN; Seraphim Communications, Saint Paul, MN; Waterfilters.net, Zumbrota, MN; Lumber One, Avon Inc. Avon, MN; Park Dental, Roseville, MN and State Bank & Trust, Fargo, North Dakota.

Winners of the Student of Integrity Scholarships, which are awarded to high school seniors who demonstrate through essay their understanding of integrity and how they have applied that in their lives, were also announced. Judges’ decisions are based on the students’ commitment to ethics and integrity, rather than their grade point average.

“This scholarship is unique because it is based on the student’s personal experience and the choices they’ve made,” said BBB Event Coordinator Mackenzie Kelley, who oversees the scholarship awards. “Once again, our scholarship applicants this year clearly demonstrated they understand the importance of doing the right thing.”

Winners of this year’s Student of Integrity Scholarships are:

  • Hawi Tilahune, Coon Rapids High School – $5,000
  • Valentina Benito-Correa, Benilde-St. Margaret’s High School – $2,500

The BBB Integrity Awards are presented each year to companies who exemplify ethical behavior and display integrity in all aspects of their operations; toward their employees, vendors, customers, and within their community. Companies must also uphold BBB standards. Winners are chosen by an independent panel of judges. Nominations are currently being accepted for the 2012 BBB Integrity Awards and may be made by customers, vendors, or even the company itself.  Visit www.thefirstbbb.org for more information or call Mackenzie Kelley at 651-695-2482.

The mission of the Better Business Bureau is to be the leader in building marketplace trust by promoting, through self-regulation, the highest standards of business ethics and conduct, and to instill confidence in responsible businesses through programs of education and action that inform, assist and protect the general public. Our hours of operation are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday. Contact the BBB at www.bbb.org or 651-699-1111, toll-free at 1-800-646-6222.


# # #